The Minneapolis American Indian Center is a community center in the heart of the American Indian community of Minneapolis. It is one of the oldest Indian centers in the country, founded in 1975. We provide educational and social services to more than 10,000 members of the community annually. We preserve and support American Indian cultural traditions through art, youth and inter-generational programs.

Administration

Mary LaGarde – White Earth Nation
Executive Director
(612) 879-1750
mlagarde@maicnet.org

Mostafa Zahedi
Controller
(612) 879-1707
mzahedi@maicnet.org

Morgan Thompson – Mille Lacs Band
Executive Assistant
(612) 879-1706
mthompson@maicnet.org

Linda Harris
Development/Evaluation Coordinator
(763) 670-7512
lharris@maicnet.org

Waska Wicahapi – Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate
Front Desk
(612) 879-1700
receptionist@maicnet.org

George Martin – Red Lake Nation
Security/Transportation Coordinator
(612) 879-1747
gmartin@maicnet.org

Chuck Stately – Red Lake Nation
Maintenance Engineer
(612) 879-1756

Lorenzo Kills Plenty
Maintenance Aide
(612) 879-1700


Workforce Innovation Opportunity Act

Brian Joyce – White Earth Nation
Program Director
(612) 879-1770
bjoyce@maicnet.org

Vicky Reyes – Leech Lake
Career Counselor
Main Line: (612) 879-1727  
Work Cell: (612) 554-2359 
vreyes@maicnet.org

Valerie LaFave – Red Lake Nation
Employment Counselor
Main Line: (612) 879-1710 
Work Cell: (612) 590-9369 
vlafave@maicnet.org


Native Culture Language Arts Network

Cheryl Secola – Bois Forte
Program Director
(612) 879-1783
csecola@maicnet.org

Miziway Desjarlait – Red Lake Nation
Program Assistant
(612) 879-1709
mdesjarlait@maicnet.org

David “Memegwesi” Sutherland – Oji-Cree Band of Constance Lake First Nations
Language Instructor
(612) 879-1743
dsutherland@maicnet.org

John Buehlmann – Yankton Sioux
Prevention Specialist
(612) 879-1732
jbuehlmann@maicnet.org

Summer Dumarce – Sisseton-Wahpeton
Language Internship Coordinator
(612) 879-1700
sdumarce@maicnet.org


Native Fitness & Nutrition

Colette Lawrence – Leech Lake
Native Elders FAN Coordinator
(612) 879-1703
clawrence@maicnet.org

Johnny Crow – Oglala Lakota
Fitness Activities Coordinator
(612) 879-1722
jcrow@maicnet.org

George Green – Winnebago
Fitness Center Attendant
(612) 879-1731
ggreen@maicnet.org


Ginew/Golden Eagle

Main Line: (612) 879-1708
GE Cell: (612) 308-6314 

Julie Green – White Earth Nation
Program Director
(612) 879-1765
jgreen@maicnet.org

Yeeleng “G” Vue
Tobacco Prevention Coordinator
(612) 879-1772
yvue@maicnet.org

Ashley Cook
Ginew/Golden Eagles Youth Coordinator
(612) 879-1766
acook@maicnet.org

Teanna Rouillard – Santee Sioux
Promise Fellow


Indian Child Welfare Act Program

Laura Newton – Lac Courte Orielles
Program Director
(612) 879-1714
lnewton@maicnet.org

Charlene Day-Castro – Bois Forte
ICWA/Bright Beginnings Case Manager
Main Line: (612) 879-1786  
Work Cell: (612) 710-5798 
cdaycastro@maicnet.org

Kelly Morgan – Red Lake Nation
Tribal Liaison
Main Line: (612) 879-1725 
Work Cell: (612) 419-1244 
kmorgan@maicnet.org

Mikayla Maxwell
Tribal Liaison
Main Line: (612) 879-1724  
Work Cell: (612) 554-2359 
mmaxwell@maicnet.org

Renay Tolbert – White Earth Nation
Family Stability Advocate
(612) 879-1735
rtolbert@macient.org

Jessy Beaulieu – Red Lake Nation
ICWA/Bright Beginnings Case Manager
Main Line: (612) 879-1705  
Work Cell: (612) 616-2352
jbeaulieu@maicnet.org

Keegan Flaharty
ICWA Court Monitor
(612) 879-1742
kflaharty@maicnet.org


Indigenous Women’s Life Net

Rachel LaRose – Fond Du Lac
IWLN Program Coordinator/Case Manager
Main Line: (612) 879-1784  
Work Cell: (763) 290-2353 
rlarose@maicnet.org

Rebecca Jackson – Leech Lake
IWLN Advocate/Case Manager
Main Line: (612) 879-1736  
Work Cell: (763) 290-2620 
rjackson@maicnet.org


Congregate Dining

Provided by Presbyterian Homes & Services


Two Rivers Art Gallery


Woodland Indian Crafts
Gift Shop

Charlie Stately – Red Lake Nation
Proprietor
(612) 874-7766


Gatherings Cafe

Brian Yazzie – Dine/Navajo
Executive Chef
(612) 879-1753
gatheringscafe@maicnet.org

Vanessa Casillas
Cafe Business Manager/Internship Coordinator
Main Line: (612) 879-1780  
vcasillas@maicnet.org

Linus YellowHorse
Cafe Assistant

Hunter Roberts
Cafe Assistant


Board of Directors

Sam Olbekson – White Earth Nation
President
Principal, Director of Native American Design
Cuningham Group

Eileen Briggs – Red Lake Nation/ White Earth Nation
Vice President
Bush Foundation

Kit Fordham
Treasurer
Executive Director
Bii Gii Wiin CDFI

Dawn Paro – Leech Lake Ojibwe
Secretary
Case Manager
Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe

David Cournoyer – Rosebud Sioux
Board Member
Consultant
Plain Depth Consulting

Cheyenne Erickson – Leech Lake
Board Member
Neighborhood and Community Relations

Ex Officio Members

Representative Karen Clark
Minnesota State Representative

Frances Fairbanks – Red Lake
Retired Executive Director
Minneapolis American Indian Center